Repent, then, and turn to God, so that your sins may be wiped out, that times of refreshing may come from the Lord. - Acts 3:19

What is Reconciliation?

Because of human weakness, the baptised often do not live up to their dignity as sons and daughters of God. The Sacrament of Reconciliation celebrates the forgiveness and mercy of God as the sinner humbly acknowledges and confesses his or her sins. The Sacrament also repairs or reestablishes a person’s unity with and membership in the Church. The priest represents both God and the Church, and speaks the consoling words of absolution in the name of both.

Five Steps for Reconciliation

These are the five steps to reconciliation:

  1. Introspection: examine our conscience with a prayerful heart and see how we have hurt others in our thoughts, words, and actions.
  2. Contrition: admit and have remorse for your sins
  3. Change: decide not to commit these sins again.
  4. Confession: Forgiveness-confess to a priest and receive absolution
  5. Penance: Do the penance that the priest gives you.